WSCA Announces Program of Promise Award Winners

School counselors posing with their WSCA Program of Progress awards.

This year, ten school counseling programs met or exceeded the requirements for the Program of Promise award and received awards at the annual Wisconsin School Counselor Association (WSCA) conference in Madison, WI on February 7, 2019.

The Program of Promise award is the highest recognition that a comprehensive school counseling program can receive from WSCA. School counselors submit a Wisconsin School Counseling Program Accountability Report (WSCPAR) highlighting their data driven program, student results in the career, academic, and social emotional domains, and school climate and safety. The peer reviewed WSCPAR must meet and exceed stringent content standards for award consideration.  WSCPAR’s are reviewed once per year by a panel of school counseling professionals with the next submission deadline being October 15, 2019.

“Completing and submitting a WSCPAR to WSCA shows a commitment to advancing, creating, and maintaining a comprehensive and data driven school counseling program,” said Stacey Miller, WSCPAR Coordinator. “Meeting and exceeding the standards for the Program of Promise award grants recognition in front of your colleagues.”

Program of Promise award winning schools include:

Burlington High School – Burlington Area School District

E.P. Rock Elementary School – Hudson School District

Hoover Elementary School – Neenah Joint School District

Hudson Prairie Elementary School – Hudson School District

Kettle Moraine High School – Kettle Moraine School District

Eisenhower Middle & High School – School District of New Berlin

Olga Brener Intermediate School – School District of Sheboygan

School District of Sheboygan Falls Elementary & Middle School

Willow River Elementary School – Hudson School District

Wilson Elementary School – Neenah Joint School District

The Wisconsin School Counselor Association exists to meet the needs of professional school counselors. WSCA’s membership is comprised of elementary, middle, high school, and post-secondary school counselors, both practicing and retired. Focused on providing quality professional development opportunities, supporting comprehensive school counseling programs, and giving one voice to professional school counselors, WSCA is dedicated to empowering school counselors throughout the state.

Hudson School District award winners include: Kelly Curtis, School Counselor at E.P. Rock; Aria Krieser, School Counselor at Hudson Prairie; Sarah Flier, School Counselor at Willow River